With the approach of the St. Patrick's Day holiday, the Anne Arunel County Police will be out in force looking to catch drivers they suspect of drunk driving.
A sobriety checkpoint will be conducted along Fort Smallwood Road in Pasadena and will support the “Checkpoint Strikeforce” effort in which local police are cooperating with the federal government. Additional police resources will be engaged in stepped up enforcement throughout the county especially in areas with a concentration of bars and restaurants.
It is vital that as you enjoy the St. Patrick's Day holiday you are aware that the police are looking to arrest people for drunk driving. It takes much less than most people realize to have an elevated blood alcohol level and the authorities can and have prosecuted drivers with blood alcohol levels below even .08 if they believe them to be impaired.
Be careful and be safe. If you find yourself caught up in this dragnet call me immediately 410-541-6DUI (384). You can also get more information by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org
Saturday, March 12, 2011
Friday, March 4, 2011
So it is the next day. You may need to get your car out of impound and you have a legal mess facing you. Of course, the very first thing you should do is contact an attorney and begin the process of dealing with the charges you face.
You can contact me at anytime by calling 410-541-6DUI (384) or emailing email@example.com
In Maryland, drunk driving charges have two separate tracks, a criminal track, where you can face jail time or probation, and an administrative track, where your privilege to drive is at risk.
If you are a Maryland driver you should receive, as part of the many documents given to you by law enforcement, a temporary license and a request for hearing form. It is critical that you complete this request form and return it to the Maryland Office of Administrative Hearings along with a check for $125 made payable to the "Maryland State Treasurer".
Under Maryland law, your privilege to drive will be automatically suspended on the 46th day after your arrest unless you request a hearing within 10 days of your arrest. So completing this request is the most important thing you need to do after being arrested on drunk driving charges. With a timely request, you can continue to drive normally until the date of your hearing.
You may request a hearing up to 30 days after your arrest. However, if your request is made more than 10 days after your arrest your license will still be automatically suspended on the 46th day after your arrest.
You do want to have a hearing. At a hearing, you can challenge the evidence against you and possibly convince the hearing judge to take "no action" against your license. Even if you fail to do this, you can have the suspension modified in order to allow you to drive, under certain conditions. More on that in another post. If you do nothing, your license will be suspended automatically.
Another point on the request. Send your request, with your check in some form that can be tracked and that you confirm it has been received (such as certified mail, FedEx, UPS). While your request may be sent by regular mail if it is not received the Office of Administrative Hearings will take the position that you never sent it (I have had clients where this has happened and you do not want to have it happen to you.)
So, the first thing you do after getting arrest and contacting an attorney is to properly request a hearing.